2018 Minimum Wage Changes in Florida

by Isaac Benmergui, Esq on January 24, 2018

2018 minimum wage changes in florida With the New Year comes changes in employment law, and this year in Florida, that means an increase in the minimum wage. As of January 1, minimum wage increased in Florida from $8.10 an hour to $8.25 an hour. The minimum cash wage, which is for service workers who depend on tips, is increasing from $5.08 to $5.23 an hour. The maximum tip credit remains unchanged at $3.02.

Workers’ groups are keeping an eye on proposed Trump Administration changes to tip pooling, which is passed would allow management to determine how tips are distributed for cash-wage employees. This would mean that after employees are given tip credit that puts them at minimum wage, management can decide to allows servers to continue keeping their tips, pool tips among front of house and back of house employees, or withhold tips entirely.

If you get your first paycheck of the new year and discover that your wages have remained unchanged from 2017 rates, you can file a complaint against your employer with the Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division. You have two years to claim back pay. As soon as you notice that you are owed additional wages, gather all the evidence you can, including pay stubs and copies of your timesheet or log. This is the same process you would use to recover overtime or other wages owed.

Employers who violated minimum wage or overtime laws can be hit with civil penalties of $1,000 to $10,000 for each violation.

Call Miami Employment Lawyer Isaac Benmergui at 305.397.8547 and set up a no charge, no obligation consultation to discuss your case. We have over a decade of experience handling Employment Law and Civil Litigation cases throughout Miami and South Florida, and will use our expertise to help your case to the best of our abilities.

Previous post:

Next post: